Honors and Awards

Honors, Awards and Fellowships

1979 Flora Roberts Award to the Outstanding Senior Woman, Purdue University

1986 National Center for Atmospheric Research Summer Fellowship

1989 Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution Postdoctoral Fellowship

1996 National Science Foundation Early Career Award

2000 Truman and Nellie Semans Chair in Earth and Ocean Sciences, Duke University

2007 Duke University, University-wide Award for Excellence in Mentoring

2008 H. Burr Steinbach Scholar, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution

2009 Fellow, American Meteorological Society

2010 Association of Women Geoscientists Outstanding Educator Award

2012 Ronie-Richele Garcia Johnson Distinguished Professorship, Duke University

2014 Fellow, American Geophysical Union

2015 Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science

2016 Professorship of Excellence, Dr. Werner Petersen Foundation, Germany

2016 Ambassador Award, American Geophysical Union

2017 Joanne Simpson Mentoring Award, American Meteorological Society

2019 Honoree, Old Masters Program, Purdue University

2020 Fellow, American Academy of Arts and Sciences

2022 Henry Stommel Research Medal, American Meteorological Society

Named Lectures

2001 American Geophysical Union Rachel Carson Lecturer

2011 Osgood Memorial Lecturer, Wooster College, Wooster, Ohio

2013 Sears Lecturer, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution

2014 Sarah and James Bowdoin Day Speaker, Bowdoin College

2015 Roger Revelle Lecturer, Ocean Studies Board, Smithsonian Institute

2016 J. Tuzo Wilson Distinguished Lecturer, University of Toronto

2017 Marie Tharp Lecturer, GEOMAR Institute, Kiel, Germany

2017 Scott W. Nixon Lecturer, University of Rhode Island Coastal Institute

2017 Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences Distinguished Lecturer, University of Colorado